Soul Reunion - Hot Southern Soul Reunion Live - South African DVD *New*


New product

3 Items

In Stock


Add to wishlist

More info

Title: Hot Southern Soul Reunion Live
Artist/Stars: Various
Contents: Stax Records was founded in 1959 by Jim Stewart and Estelle Axton (the ST and AX of STAX) and was located in a disused cinema in Memphis Tennessee. A rare spirit of inter-racial co-operation ran through the company which was one of the main reasons for its remarkable success.

Stax virtually created contemporary southern soul music, driven by gospel soul lyrics and the tight house backing band of Booker T and the MGs. This southern soul was different to the slick Atlantic soul sound and the more glitzy Motown. Stax's first major artist was Otis Redding. Isaac Hayes was the most innovative and successful of the Stax artists; he worked as a producer, song writer and recording artist. He was responsible for Sam and Dave s Killer hits 'Hold On I'm Coming' and 'Soul Man' and developed his own blend of soul jazz with an orchestral backing. He had multi-million sellers with the soundtrack 'Shaft' and his album 'Hot Buttered Soul'.

The spirit of the company was evident to visitors who would witness the MGs doing administrative duties, Isaac Hayes gold Rolls Royce gleaming in the car park and artists in the recording rooms working together as one. This reunion recording is a witness to this spirit and the artists involved are as soulful, dynamic and moving as they were back then.

1 Knock On Wood - Eddie Floyd
2 Mr Big Stuff - Jean Knight
3 You Don t Miss Your Water - William Bell
4 When A Man Loves A Woman - Percy Sledge
5 Theme From Shaft - Isaac Hayes
6 That Will Be Good Enough For Me - Rance Allen
7 When Something Is Wrong With My Baby - Michael McDonald & Carla Thomas
8 Sitting On The Dock Of The Bay - Michael Mc Donald
9 Soul Finger - The Bar-Keys & Chuck D
10 That's What Love Will Make You Do - Little Milton & Jimmy Vaughn
11 Let's Stay Together - Al Green
12 Love And Happiness - Al Green
13 Green Onions - Booker T & The MGs
14 Mustang Sally - Solomon Burke & Sir Mack Rice
15 Respect Yourself - Mavis Staples
16 I'll Take You There - Ensemble

Running Time:  approx 1 hr 25 mins

"Please note that this DVD has been re-mastered from archived video material and is therefore unlikely to be of the same standard as modern day DVD.  We do believe that the rarity of the material and the passion of the performances make up for quality variations"
Country: South Africa
Catalog Number: REVDVD523
Region Code: Region Free


No customer reviews for the moment.

Write a review

Soul Reunion - Hot Southern Soul Reunion Live - South African DVD *New*

Soul Reunion - Hot Southern Soul Reunion Live - South African DVD *New*

30 other products in the same category: